Wichita Falls Times Record News (TX) January 24, 2010
Author: Nick Gholson; gholsonn@timesrecordnews.com / 940-720-3447

It was like “Groundhog Day” with Kevin Atkinson in the role of Bill Murray.

A year ago, the Keller High School football coach was named to coach the 72nd Oil Bowl game. On Saturday, he was named to coach the 73rd Oil Bowl .

After a thunderstorm producing dangerous lightning canceled last year’s game, the three Texas coaches were offered a chance to return this year. Only Atkinson accepted.

“I just wanted to finish the deal,” he said. “When you work as hard as we did last year and then don’t get to play the game – well, I needed closure.

“Plus the hospitality here was so nice. I really enjoyed it, and I’m looking forward to doing it again.”

Oklahoma considered inviting its three coaches back from a year ago but instead chose three new ones for the June 12 game at Memorial Stadium.

The Sooner state has 75 years worth of coaching experience in Oil Bowl head coach Jeff Myers of Kingfisher and assistants Mike Mobra of Catoosa and Brad Farrow of Broken Arrow.

Blake Feldt of Pilot Point, whose team went 15-0 and won the Class 2A Division I state championship last season, will be the head coach for Texas.

Kent Scott of Prosper will be the defensive coordinator. Prosper went 14-1 and won the Class 3A Division I state title in 2008 and finished 11-2 last year.

Atkinson will serve as offensive coordinator for Texas.

The all-star game is sponsored by the Maskat Shrine Temple of Wichita Falls and benefits children’s charities in Texas and Oklahoma.

Texas and Oklahoma have played each other 63 times with Texas owning a 44-18-1 series edge.