Posted:  Jan. 13, 2008

Bill Dalke of Burkburnett and Barry Foster of Rush Springs were named Saturday as head coaches for the 71st Oil Bowl football game.

The Maskat Shrine Temple charity game, featuring high school all-stars from Texas and Oklahoma, will be played at 7:30 p.m., Saturday, June 21, at Memorial Stadium.

Joining Dalke on the Texas coaching staff will be Mark Manley of Childress as offensive coordinator and Kevin Rush of Forney as defensive coordinator.

Greg Werner of Broken Bow will the the offensive coordinator for Oklahoma and Mike Hainzinger of Sapulpa will be defensive coordinator.

Three men will be inducted into the Oil Bowl Hall of Fame at the game’s banquet on June 20 at the Temple Building, former Wichita Falls High School stars Lindy Berry and Dick Lowe, who played in the 1946 game, and Garland athletic director Homer Johnson, who coached the 1993 game.

Texas defeated Oklahoma 31-16 last year to increase its lead in the series to 44-17-1.