Times Record News
Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Eleven players from the Wichita Falls area have been chosen to play in the 74th Oil Bowl football game, according to rosters posted on the game’s website.

Tyler Seale of Rider, Hayden Wright of Wichita Falls High, Kieran Spence of Hirschi and Bill Powers of City View will represent the host city in the annual Texas vs. Oklahoma football all-star game on June 11 at Memorial Stadium.

Other area players selected to play for the Texas team are Lee Clubb of Iowa Park, Scott Dobbins of Burkburnett, Cody Blanscet of Henrietta, Aaron Chokas of Bowie, Tyler Cole of Holliday, Joseph Dowd of Holliday and Ty Duncan of Windthorst.

The area also will be represented by two coaches, Bryon West of Henrietta will be the head coach for the Texas team, and Steve Smith of Archer City will serve as defensive coordinator.

The Texas team will also have a pair of Midwestern State signees — defensive tackle Devante Robinson of Hendrickson HIgh School in Pflugerville and offensive lineman Justin Wotring of Allen.

The Oklahoma team has five players who won state championships last season.  Christian Hood and Richard Stanley helped Tulsa Union win the Class 6A title; Marcus Caddel Jr. and DeVante McKinney were on the Oklahoma City Douglass team that won the 4A championship and Derrick Juetjen played for the Class 2A state championship Hennessey team.

The game is sponsored by Maskat Shrine Temple and splits its proceeds between the North Texas Rehabilitation Commission and the Oklahoma Crippled Children’s Society.

Tickets are $11 for reserved and $9 for general admission.  There will be a banquet at 7 p.m., Friday, June 10, at the MPEC.  There will be a tailgate party where fans can meet the players from 10 a.m. until noon in the Memorial Stadium parking lot the day of the game.

For more information, go to www.oilbowl.com or call 940-766-4511.