By Nick Gholson
WF Times Rcord News

History was made in 2011 as the Oil Bowl had its first overtime game.

Argyle’s Chad Hedlund kicked a 39-year field goal in OT for 17-14 win, but only after the Texas defense forced three Oklahoma turnovers and came up with a critical safety.

Texas won the game despite not leading in the second half and missing both of its extra-point attempts — one on a block and another because of a bad snap.

Oklahoma managed to survive a couple turnovers early, but its last one on the first play of overtime proved the costliest.

Kingfisher quarterback Derek Patterson fumbled after a hit from DeSoto’s Cord Seay, and Coppell’s Brandon Mullins pounded on it.

Oklahoma’s bad snap from its own 9-yard line gave Texas a safety that cut Oklahoma’s lead to 14-8 with 6:06 to play.

Texas hadn’t sniffed the red zone before then, but it took over on Oklahoma’s 43-yard line after the free kick and a late-hit penalty.

Iowa Park’s Lee Clubb broke several tackles in gaining 23 yards after catching a short fourth-and-6 pass from the 39. That led to a 4-yard touchdown run by Mexia’s Doug Gentry, but Texas missed the PAT, causing overtime.

Before Gentry’s TD run, all of Texas points had been produced by the defense.

Stephen Sanders (Mesquite Horn) picked off a screen pass and sprinted 69 yards for a first-quarter touchdown.

Guthrie’s 6-6 receiver Devante McCully caught two deep passes that set up two Oklahoma touchdowns.

After a 38-yard McCully catch, Oklahoma scored on a 21-yard TD pass from Elk City’s Will Davis to Lawton’s Tyrequek Zimmerman.

That gave Oklahoma a 7-6 halftime lead. A 45-yard reception by McCully late in the third quarter led to Zimmerman’s 39-yard touchdown on third-and-30.