Honored Coaches: 1946 – 1978

Joe Golding (Wichita Falls; 1947-48-49-50-51)
Coached in five Oil Bowls during his 15 years at Wichita Falls High School. Golding had a record of 152-22-2 and won four state championships with the Coyotes. He was also instrumental in building the Memorial Stadium that the game is now played in.

Gil Steinke (Texas A&I; 1960-67)
Coaches 23 years at Texas A&I in Kingsville and won six national championship in NAIA Division I. His record was 182-61-4. Was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1996, one year after his death.

Grant Teaff (Baylor; 1964-71)
Was the head coach at McMurry and then Angelo State in his two Oil Bowls, but Teaff went on to make a name for himself at Baylor. The Bears were 7-43 in the five years before Teaff took over, but he won two Southwest Conference titles there and took them to eight bowl games. Inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2001.

Gordon Wood (Brownwood; 1977-85)
The legendary Texas high school coach won nine state championships, seven of those in his 26 seasons with Brownwood. Wood’s coaching record from 1949 through 1985 was 396-91-15 .

Charlie Johnston (Childress; 1978)
Retired as the third winningest coach in Texas high school history with a 314-94-8 overall record in 36 years at Childress High School. First winner of the prestigious Tom Landry Award given by the Texas High School Coaches Association.

Larry Coker (Claremore; 1978)
Went from high school coaching in Oklahoma to a long career as a college assistant coach before finally getting a chance to be a college head coach in 2001 at the University of Miami. Led the Hurricanes to a national championship his first season and posted a 35-3 record with three straight Bowl Championship Series appearances in his first three years.