Honored Players: 1960 – 1969

Dave Parks (Abilene; 1960)
An All-American receiver for Texas Tech in 1963 and the No. 1 draft pick of the San Francisco 49ers in 1964.

Scott Appleton (Brady; 1960)
And outstanding defensive tackle that helped Texas win a national championship in 1963. Won the Outland Trophy that year and was the defensive MVP in a 28-0 Cotton Bowl victory over second-ranked Navy. He had 12 tackles and a sack of Roger Staubach in that game. Was drafted No. 1 by both the Dallas Cowboys and Houston Oilers, but played for the Oilers in the AFL.

Mickey Maroney (Wichita Falls; 1963)
After playing for Wichita Falls High School’s undefeated state championship team in 1961, Maroney went to the University of Arkansas and played for the Razorbacks’ national championship team of 1964. He joined the Secret Service in 1971 and protected several U.S. presidents. Maroney was killed in the tragic bombing of the Alfred P. Murrah Federal Building in Oklahoma City on April 19, 1995.

Bob Kalsu (Del City; 1963)
Kalsu was an All-American offensive tackle for Oklahoma in 1967 and went on to play for the Buffalo Bills. But Kalsu was more than a football player — he was a true American hero who gave his life for his country. He was the only professional athlete killed in Vietnam.

Chris Gilbert (Houston Spring Branch; 1965)
At Texas, Gilbert became the first back in college football history to record three straight 1,000-yard seasons. A consensus All-American and eighth in Heisman Trophy voting his senior year.

Jerry Levias (Beaumont; 1965)
The first black scholarship athlete in the history of the Southwest Conference, Levias set records at SMU for receptions in one game (15); in one season (80); in a career (155) and most receiving yards in a season (1,131) and career (2,275). NFL rookie of the year for the Houston Oilers in 1969. A 2004 inductee into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Bill Bradley (Palestine; 1965)
This great high school quarterback made the transition to defense under Darrell Royal at Texas and went on to become a great defensive back with the Philadelphia Eagles in the NFL.

Steve Owens (Miami, Okla; 1966)
A Heisman Trophy winner at Oklahoma in 1969 after leading the nation in rushing with 1,523 yards and 23 touchdowns. Scored 56 TDs in three years with the Sooners. Once had a string of 17 straight 100-yard rushing games. Inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1991.

James Street (Longview; 1966)
Never lost a game as a starting quarterback for Texas. Street won the last nine games with the Longhorns in 1968 and then led them to an 11-0 national championship season in 1969.

Chuck Hixson (San Antonio; 1966)
As a quarterback at SMU, Hixson led the nation in passing his sophomore season of 1968. He is the Mustangs’ career leader in passing yards (7,179), completions (642) and touchdown passes (40).

Ken Mendenhall (Enid; 1966)
Devastating one-on-one blocker who made All-American at OU in 1969 and cleared the path to the Heisman Trophy for Steve Owens.

Riley Odoms (Corpus Christi; 1968)
Odoms was a four-time Pro Bowler in his 12 years as a tight end with the Denver Broncos. Played in Super Bowl XII for the Broncos lost 27-10 to the Dallas Cowboys.

Jack Mildren (Abilene Cooper; 1968)
Mildren was an All-American quarterback for OU’s wishbone offense that led the nation in rushing, total offense and scoring in 1971. Went on to play for the Baltimore Colts and served as lieutenant governor for the state of Oklahoma from 1990 to 1994.

Jerry Sisemore (Plainview; 1969)
This College Football Hall of Famer was an All-American offensive tackle who helped Texas win three straight Southwest Conference championships. He was the third selection in the 1972 NFL Draft and had a 12-year Pro Bowl career with the Eagles.