By Nick Gholson
Sunday, January 22, 2012

After taking Rider High School four rounds deep into the playoffs in his two seasons as head coach, Jim Garfield was chosen to lead Texas against Oklahoma in the 75th Oil Bowl.

The Rider coach will be the head coach for the Texas all-star football team in the diamond anniversary game June 9 at Memorial Stadium.  “I am excited that I get to represent Wichita Falls and Texas high school football in a game that has been played 75 years.  It’s both an honor and a privilege.” he said Saturday at a gathering of coaches for the annual Maskat Shrine Temple game.

Stamford coach Wayne Hutchinson, who played in the 1984 Oil Bowl, will be Garfield’s defensive coordinator.  Hutchinson quaterbacked Knox City to a Class A state title his senior season.  “I was a defensive back and punter in the game, and the play I remember most is when we lined up to punt, and the ball was snapped over my head.  I ran for my life, picked it up, planted and threw across the field to Milton Williams of Post, who ran for a touchdown,” Hutchinson said.

Texas won that game 27-7.  After winning the Oil Bowl’s first overtime game 17-14 last year, the Texans now lead the series 46-18-1.

Jason Tucker of Burleson will be the offensive coordinator for Texas this year.

The three Oklahoma coaches will be Harlon House of Seminole, Rob Fry of Ponca City and J. R. Winton of Pryor.  House will be the head coach and defensive coordinator.  Fry will coach receivers, quarterbacks and running backs.  Winton will be offensive coordinator and coach the offensive line.

Oil Bowl Chairman Gary Hill said former Southlake Carroll coach Bob Ledbetter will be the speaker at the game’s banquet on June 8 at Maskat Shrine Temple.