Nick Gholson, Times Record News

Six players from the Wichita Falls area have been selected to play in the 66th Oil Bowl football game.
Hirschi tight end Mark Crowe, Wichita Falls High running back Kip McCarthy and Rider offensive lineman Kevin Compton will be on the Texas all-star roster for the annual Maskat Shrine Temple charity game on June 21 in Memorial Stadium.
Also representing the area on the Texas team will be City View defensive back Gus Barnes, Petrolia running back Ross Harrison and Holliday kicker Lee Price.
Todd Dodge, the offensive coordinator for Texas, will bring two players off his Class 5A Division II state championship team – quarterback Chase Wasson and 6-7 wide receiver Scott Chandler.
Wasson, who has signed with Southwest Texas State, threw for 4,822 yards and 54 touchdowns and ran for 1,062 yards and 14 TDs his senior season.
Chandler, who signed with Iowa, caught 67 passes for 1,200 yards and 19 touchdowns.
James Battle, the talented quarterback who led Denton Ryan to back-to-back Class 4A state titles, will also be on the roster, as will his favorite receiver, Phillip Jones.
Battle, a TCU signee, threw for 2,989 yards and 31 touchdowns and ran for 872 yards and 19 touchdowns his senior season.
Jones caught 73 passes for 1,485 yards and 21 TDs.
The Oklahoma all-stars also have an impressive lineup, which includes quarterback Donovan Woods of Oklahoma City.
Woods is the younger brother of Oklahoma State’s All-American wide receiver Rashaun Woods.
The young quarterback is also headed to OSU this fall, giving the Cowboys three Woods brothers on the roster. D’Juan Woods will be a sophomore wide receiver.
Thirty-eight colleges will be represented in this year’s Oil Bowl. Oklahoma has the most players with six, followed by Oklahoma State with four, Texas A&M with three and Air Force with three.
This year’s game will be dedicated to Skip Hicks, a former Burkburnett star running back who played in the 1991 Oil Bowl. Hicks set school records and was an All-American at UCLA and has played for Washington, Tennessee and Carolina in the NFL.
Former Dallas Cowboys linebacker D.D. Lewis will be the speaker for the Oil Bowl banquet on June 20.