Nick Gholson
Time Record News

Gerald Jones, the owner of the single-season rushing record in Oklahoma high school football history, is headed to the 68th Oil Bowl game.

The 5-11, 175-pounder ran for 3,779 yards and 54 touchdowns in leading Pawnee to the Class 2A state championship his senior year.

He averaged better than 11 yards per carry during a season that ended with his 282-yard rushing performance in a 31-14 win over Tonkawa in the state title game.

Jones has won state championships in the 100-meter dash the past two years and has the Class 2A state-best time of 10.39 this season.

He will attend junior college at Northeastern Oklahoma A&M in the fall.

Jones is one of 30 All-State players chosen to be on the Oklahoma roster in the annual Maskat Shrine Temple charity game against Texas on June 18 at Memorial Stadium.

Tulsa University has the most representation of any Division I school on the Oklahoma roster. Four of the five players signed by the Golden Hurricane — Jenks’ Jesse Meyer, Tulsa East Central’s Popsie Floyd, Comanche’s Jody Whaley and Coweta’s Curt Puckett — are coming to the Oil Bowl.

Oklahoma State will be represented by three players — Vinita’s Noah Franklin, Tulsa Union’s Brock Dixon and Edmond Memorial’s Cole Reynolds.

NEO, with six, has the most players on the Oklahoma roster.