1990s Basketball

1996:  Glendon Alexander of Carrollton Newman Smith scored 31 Points and had 16 rebounds to lead the West to a 92-88 win over the East. Other top performers for the West were Charlie Bennett of Coppell with 17 points, Blake Christian of Southlake Carroll with 11 points, Joe Johnson of Burkburnett with 10 points, Ryan Peterson of Krum with 13 rebounds and Cory Laury of Pampa with 11 rebounds. Desmond Mason of Waxahachie led the East with 17 points and had nine rebounds. Jerome Jackson of Mineral Wells had 13 paints and 11 rebounds, Craig Snodgrass of Wichita Falls Rider won the 3-point shooting- contest. Mason was the slam dunk champ, Danny Nix of Burkburnett was head coach of the West. Nat Lunn of Rider coached the East.

1997: Willie Davis of Dallas Lincoln scored 28 points and was the MVP of the West’s 133-108 win. Anwar Stewart- Perry of Lewisville scored 14 points and provided the floor direction for the winning team, coached by Larry Menefee of Wichita Falls High School. Chad Elsey of Marcus scored 18 points, Chris Owens of Duncanville scored 17, Reggie Jackson of Burkburnett scored 14, Brandon Wolfram of Amarillo scored 13 and Travis Hull of Peaster scored 11 for the West. Garland Lakeview’s DeMarcus Minor led the East with 22 points, followed by South Garland’s Stan Blackmon with 19, Dallas Madison’s Archie Beason with 16, South Garland’s Daniel Hope with 15 and Graham’s Brent Gaylor with 14. Jeff Cody of Cleburne was the East coach.

1998: Tim Lightfoot of Everman scored 25 points – 15 of that on five 3-pointers – and was the MVP of the West’s 130-102 victory.  Chris Davis of Dallas Kimball was the leading scorer for the West with 29 points. Greg Harrington of Carrollton Newman Smith had 19, Kerry Persick of Rider had 16 and Ricky Osborn of Hirschi and Eric Hare of McKinney scored 11 each for the West. Eric Potter of Cleburne led the East with 22 points, Reggie Minnieweather of Dallas Skyline had 19, Kirby Lemons of Midland had 12 and Drew Wallace of Cleburne and Andy Ellis of Lamesa scored 11 each. Lemons was the game’s top rebounder with 10, Gene Phillips of Azle coached the West, and Ken Cook of Southlake Carroll coached the East. In the first Oil Bowl girls basketball game, Shea Kester of Weatherford scored 14 points and was the MVP of the East’s 75-63 win. Christie Derzapf of Henrietta led the East with 15 points. Quinn Teder of Lindale scored 13. Morgan Moyland of Granbury led the West with 22 points, and Dana Godfrey of Duncanville added 17. Mindy Brown and Hirschi’s Kim Dixon had 10 paints each. Steve Mcllhaney of Rider was the East coach. Joe Golding of Wichita Falls High coached the West.

1999: Charlie Davis of Grand Prairie poured in 25 points to lead the West to a 119-11 win.  Davis was named the MVP of the game. This was the final home game for Wichita Falls High School star Bingo Merriex, who scored 19 points and had 16 rebounds for the East. Ty Harrelson of Rider and Marvin Harrison of Hirschi each scored 17 points, Harrelson for the West and Thompson for the East. Thompson had a game-high five 3-pointers. Nate Nelson of Burkburnett also scored 11 points for the East. The two teams combined for 24 3-pointers, 13 for the East and 11 for the West. Terry Conerway of Cleburne scored 20, and Ronald Hobbs had 17 for the West. Quinton Ross of Dallas Kimball and Richard Bailey of South Garland scored 20 each for the East. Jay Christian of Midland also scored 17. Jody Bass of Highland Park coached the West, and Jimmy Trotter of Wichita Falls Hirschi coached the East. KraTaura Buckner of Wichita Falls scored 18 paints and was the MVP in the West’s 70-67 overtime victory in the girls game. Kandy Biven scored 18 for the West, and Eplunus Brooks of Hirschi scored 16 points. April Wilson of Midway scored 15 for the West, and Hillary Wallace of Cleburne had 12. Leta Davis of Hirschi coached the West and Janice Stepp coached the East.


Scroll to Top