2000s Football

2000: Chris Sims of Garland kicked three field goals, including a Oil Bowl record 60-yarder, to lead Texas to an 11-9 win in this defensive battle. Sims also had successful kicks from 22 and 21 yards. Wes Welker of Heritage Hall kicked a 40-yard field goal for Oklahoma. The only touchdown of the game was a quarterback sneak by Tahlequah’s Jason Sutherland with 1:51 left in the game, but Dustin Edelman of Wichita Falls Hirschi and Robby McDaniel of Katy corralled Medford quarterback James Kilian to stop the 2-point conversion attempt. Sims was the game’s offensive MVP, and Brandon Kennedy of Terrell was the defensive MVP.

2001: Defenses dominated in the first half. Texas averaged just 2.4 yards per carry. Oklahoma had a minus-6 on its stat sheet at the break. But Weatherford, Texas, running back Mark Pierce changed all that on the third play of the second half. Pierce ran 70 yards for his second score of the game to lead Texas to a 14-2 win. Pierce, who rushed for 125 yards on 16 carries, was the game’s offensive MVP. Nederland tackle Jeff Mayhew was the defensive MVP. Jake Hager of Perry also had a strong defensive performance for Oklahoma.

2002: Travis Wilson of Carrollton Creekview caught two touchdown passes and was the offensive MVP of Texas’ 28-7 win. Wilson caught a 41-yard TD pass from Mesquite quarterback Mark Hodges in the second quarter and a 17-yarder from Southlake Carroll’s Ricky Lay in the third. The game was marred by 20 penalties, including six personal foul calls against Oklahoma in the second half, and two player ejections. Longview linebacker Marvin Byrdsong was the defensive MVP.

2003: Deer Creek’s Luke Roberts kicked a 40-yard field goal with 3:43 to play to give Oklahoma an exciting 24-21 win. Just four minutes earlier, Texas had tied the score 21-21 on a 1-yard run by Taurence Rawls of Garland. Rawls was the offensive MVP with 106 yards rushing on 11 carries. Two third quarter field goals by Holliday’s Lee Price gave Texas a 13-7 advantage, but Oklahoma took the lead right back on an 80-yard run by Spencer McIllwain of Tulsa Union. When John Kelly of Namaan Forest returned a punt 64 yards to the Oklahoma 9, it looked like Texas was about to take control again, but quarterback Chase Wasson of Southlake Carroll made a bad pitch on the option and Royce Street of Seminole caught it in mid-air and raced 80 yards the other way for a 21-13 Oklahoma lead. Penalties marred the game. Texas was flagged nine times for 92 yards, and Oklahoma was whistled seven times for 80 yards. First-half penalties accounted for 142 of the 172 yards.

2004: Graham Harrell hit Ennis teammate Jarvis Woodson with a 61-yard touchdown bomb on Texas’ first offensive play of the game, setting the stage for a 40-10 blowout. The Texans put this one away with a 30-0 first quarter. They scored on the Harrell-to-Woodson bomb, a safety by Allen’s Chris Smith, a 48-yard touchdown run by McKinney North’s Shannon Woods and a 5-yard touchdown run by Wichita Falls High’s Tommy Henderson. Harrell completed 17 of 29 passes for 260 yards and two touchdowns to win the offensive MVP award over Chris Barry (108 rushing yards on nine carries) and Gainesville receiver Darcel McBath (seven catches, 136 yards and a touchdown). Franklin Okam of Lake Highlands had two sacks and was named the defensive MVP.

2005: Michael Cowan of Tulsa Berryhill was the defensive MVP in a dominant defensive performance by Oklahoma. Cowan had 2.5 tackles, a fumble recovery and a sack in Oklahoma’s 38-7 win. The 31-point winning margin was the largest in Oil Bowl history, surpassing Oklahoma’s 41-13 win in 1999. Texas’ longest play of the night was a 20-yard return of a fumble recovery. Texas quarterbacks Blake Szymanski of Wichita Falls Rider and Chase Daniel of Southlake Carroll were held to a combined 13-of-33 passing for 127 yards and two interceptions. Jenks quarterback Andrew Brewer was the offensive MVP with a 3-yard touchdown run and a 1-yard TD pass to William Bencoma.

2006: The Texas defense — led by MVP Jeremy Beal of Carrollton Creekview — limited Oklahoma to only 89 total yards in a 17-0 shutout. Beal had seven tackles one and a half sacks, two forced fumbles and a fumble recovery. Euless Trinity running back Dimitri Nance earned offensive MVP honors by rushing for 108 yards on 19 carries and catching two passes for 22 yards. Texas’ touchdowns came on a 12-yard pass from Nick Stephens to Justin Fenty and Kinzey Joiner’s 18-yard fumble return.

2007: Quarterbacks Nathan Dick of Allen and Logan Turner of Springtown combined for 310 passing yards and three touchdowns in Texas’ 31-16 win. Dick’s 32-yard TD pass to Hubert Anyiam of North Garland just before halftime triggered a 31-0 Texas run. Krys Buerck of Mesquite caught six passes for 124 yards to win offensive MVP, and Garland’s Dwight Hamilton interecepted two passes and was named the defensive MVP. The Texas defense forced five turnovers and had four sacks.

2008: A bad snap on a late field goal attempt by Texas allowed Oklahoma to escape with a 17-16 win. Oklahoma quarterback Trent Wilkins of Duncan ran 65 yards for a touchdown on the final play of the third quarter and was voted the game’s offensive MVP. His 18-yard pass to Rush Springs” Brian Loyd in the second quarter accounted for Oklahoma’s other touchdown. “We don’t usually win this game, so it’s a good feeling for us to be able to take this year’s title back home,” said Wilkins, who rushed for 105 yards. Tress Way of Tulsda Union added an important 50-yard field goal. R. J. Bartley of Grove Okla. (eight tackles) shared defensive MVP honors with teammate Zack Wallace (four tackles) as they led an effort that slowed down Texas’ spread offense and gave their team a chance to win. Texas scored on a 34-yard field goal by Ben Parks of Argyle and a pair of short TD runs by Nick Florence of South Garland and Dreu Ashley of Justin Northwest. Tariekus Ellis of Allen caught four passes for 91 yards.

2009: Game was not played because of severe thunderstorms.

Scroll to Top