2000s Basketball

2000: D’ Hudson of Shllowater scored 18 points, including the final four for his team, to help rally the West to a 76-
75 victory. Hudson was the MVP of the game, which saw the West come from 11 paints down in the final quarter. Along with Hudson’s 18 points, Dallas Skyline’s Raylon Harp and Richland’s Myron Whitaker chipped in 10 points
for the West. Roy McKinney of Denton Ryan led the East with 10 points, while Logan Kosmalski of Euless Trinity and A.J. Hill of Peaster added eight. Garland Nichols of South Garland coached the West, and Tommy Thomas of The Colony coached the East. Erin Goss of Alva scored 15 points and was named the MVP in the girls game. Oklahoma beat Texas 68-62 in the first Oil Bowl basketball matchup between the two states. Randi Wilson of Carl Albert and Takesha Watson Millwood finished with 10 paints each for Oklahoma. Casey Jackson of Amarillo Palo Duro led Texas and all scorers with 21 points. Kaira White of Mansfield also was in double figures with 15 for Texas. Dianne Inman of Savanna and Cherie Meyers of Kingfisher coached Oklahoma.  Donna Capps and Pollye Hunter of Crandall coached Texas.

2001: Josh Jacobs of West Mesquite scored 26 points to lead the East to a 94-70 rout of the West in the boys game. Jacobs, who is headed for Arkansas-Little Rock wasn’t the only star for the East. Three other players scored in double figures. Brandon Ellerbee of Plano East had 14 points and Midwestern State recruit Justin James of Rockwall and Marcus Taylor of South Garland scored 11 apiece. James also had eight rebounds.  Isaac Hines of Dallas Molina led the West with 16 points, followed by Matt Gipson of Burkburnett with 15 and Jared Hall of Arlington Lamar with 14. Hall, with a dozen boards, had a double-double.  J.D, Mayo of Dallas Skyline coached the East, and Danny Henderson of Peaster coached the West. In the girls’ game, Jenni Lingor of Tahlequah hit a short jumper with five seconds to play to give Oklahoma a 64-63 win. The Oklahoma girls came back from an 18-point deficit. Heather Schreiber of Windthorst was the leading scorer in the game with 17 points for Texas. Chronda Reagan of Lancaster and Niki Newton of Crowley added 14 and 10 points. Lingor led Oklahoma with 16. Phil King of Weatherford coached Texas, and Jerry Johnson of Bethel and Kenny Bare of Velma-Alma coached Oklahoma,

2002: D’Angelo Alexander of Oklahoma was the best player on the court, but teamwork – something you seldom see in an all-star game – was the difference in Texas’ 79-70 win over Oklahoma in the first Oil Bowl boys basketball game between the two states. Alexander, a Midwest City player who started as a freshman for OU’s Sweet 16 team in 2002-03, fired in three 3-pointers and had a game-high 26 paints. But Texas got 20 points and nine rebounds from MVP Josh Washington of Lubbock Monterey, along with 14 from J.R. Duffey of North Crowley and 11 from Eddie Jackson of Cleburne. Robert Hale of Azle coached Texas, and Gene Robbins of Colbert coached Oklahoma. In the girls’ game, Rochelle Vaughn of Plano West scored a game-high 11 points to lead Texas to its first Oil Bowl win over Oklahoma, 54-37.  Mitzi Marquart and Patsy Davis of Cleburne, and Shena Layn of Walters and Janice Hardwick of Navajo coached Oklahoma

2003: Lionel Brown, a 6-foot guard from Ardmore, scored 24 points and was named the MVP of Oklahoma’s 89-74 win over Texas. Matt Gibson of Putnam City added 21 points in the win. Oklahoma, who suited up just eight players, hit 13 of 27 shots from 3-point land. Den Brett McDade of Denton Ryan led Texas with 15 points. In the girls game, Texas cut a seven-point lead down to just one with 3:53 to play but only scored one point down the stretch as Oklahoma came away with a 66-59 victory. Mara Kee of Beaver was the MVP with 16 points – eight in the fourth quarter. Carlynn Savant of Euless Trinity led Texas with 14 points.

2004: A.J. Hawkins of Oklahoma City Millwood scored 11 of his game-high 18 points in the second half to lead
the Oklahoma boys to their second straight win over Texas, 83-72. Hawkins was named the MVP.  Gerrel Thomas of
Oklahoma City Northeast Academy scored 16 points, Mike Bontrager of Tulsa Union scored 14 and James Coats
of Oklahoma City Southeast scored 12. Kellen Allen of Mansfield Summit led Texas with 15 points. Walter Brewer
of Oklahoma City Southeast coached Oklahoma, and John Guice of Midway coached Texas.  In the girls game, Meia
Daniels of Keller Fossil Ridge scored 11 points and hit three 3’s in the final five minutes to erase a nine-point deficit and lead Texas to a 73-67 win. Taleesha Conder led Oklahoma with 15 points. Missy Davis of Azle and Daniels led Texas with 12 points each. Arnold Palmer of Boyd coached Texas. Mike Fitts of Lone Grove and Phil Landrum of Rush Springs coached Oklahoma.

2005:  The 10th Oil Bowl Basketball Classic looked to be a blowout for Texas, but thanks to clutch shots in the fourth
quarter by Michael McNeil of Edmond North, Oklahoma pulled off a 99-90 victory over Texas. McNeil was awarded
the Most Valuable Player plaque. McNeil wasn’t the only standout, Midwestern state signee Russell Button had a
team-best 22 points and four assists. He converted key fourth-quarter free throws and ran Texas offense most of
the night. Button, Booker Woodfox and Marquez Haynes combined for 55 paints and eight assists. Haynes also won
the slam-dunk title. On the Oklahoma side, Chris Rhymes had 20 points, Justin Taylor had 19 points and Taylor
Griffin had 13 points. In overtime, Oklahoma outscored Texas 19-10. The Oklahoma girls were also victorious over
Texas, 69-55 plus Oklahoma’s Katie Birch won the 3-point shooting contest. Jennifer Colli led Texas with 13 points
while Amanda Brown, Farren Fox and Ashley Leffingwell all had eight points each. Whitney Rice added 13 points,
including three 3-pointers for Oklahoma. Earnesia Williams from Oklahoma had 13 paints and eight rebounds and was awarded the game’s Most Valuable Player.



Scroll to Top