1990s Football

1990: Quinn Taylor of Lawton High and Rocky Reeves of Tulsa East Central were the MVPs on a defense that shut down Texas in Oklahoma’s 20-0 win. Texas had only 99 yards of total offense in the game and didn’t make a first down until midway through the third quarter. The Texans also lost five fumbles in the first half and had a muffed punt snap. Quarterback Todd Ritz of Weatherford, Okla., was the offensive MVP after throwing for 65 yards and a touchdown.

1991: This game was won by Lawton Eisenhower. Six players off Ike’s unbeaten state championship team — crowned national champ by USA Today — played in the game and made big contributions in Oklahoma’s 21-7 victory Dwight McFadden carried 24 times for 133 yards and was named the offensive MVP. Maurice Mayfield was the second leading rusher with 75 yards on 15 carries. Chris Pollard was the game’s defensive MVP with two interceptions to go along with three punt returns for 79 yards. Other Eisenhower players in the game were Chris Bridges, Phillip Kinney and Norman Williams.

1992: Texas exploded for 17 points in the third quarter to win 24-7. After Oklahoma scored on a short run by Wes Galloway of Clinton and Texas countered with a 2-yarder by Mundrall Lewis of Wichita Falls Rider, the Texans exploded. Wesley McKnight of Wellington had a 27-yard TD run, Vincent Prox of Mabank had a 21-yarder and Miller Spessard of Burkburnett kicked a 42-yard field goal. Flower Mound Marcus wide receiver Brian Smith was the offensive MVP, and Edwin Feaster of Wichita Falls Hirschi was the defensive MVP.

1993: The Oil Bowl moved from August to June this year, and close to 10,000 people showed up to watch Texas win 23-14. Temple quarterback Adrian Woodson was the offensive MVP. He hit 5-of-7 passes for 113 yards and a touchdown and ran eight times for 48 yards. Barron Tanner of Athens was the MVP of a Texas defense that forced six turnovers (five interceptions) and held the Oklahoma running game to just 48 yards. Tanner was in on two sacks, made seven tackles and recovered a fumble. Skip Hicks of Burkburnett caught an 18-yard pass to set up Tremain Mack’s 4-yard touchdown run in the first quarter and scored a TD on a 1-yard run at the end.

1994: Less than three minutes into the game, Sheldon Bass of Odessa Permian picked off a pass that set up a quick Texas touchdown. That set the tone for the night. Oklahoma turned the ball over eight times (six fumbles and two interceptions) in a 39-7 loss to Texas. Vernon quarterback Chris Enloe was the offensive MVP. He completed 3-of-4 passes for 110 yards. Two of those passes were on one drive, a 38-yarder and a 43-yard touchdown to Joseph Golding of Wichita Falls High. Enloe also ran for a TD. Rider tackle Jon Kunkle was the defensive MVP. He had an important sack and fumble recovery at a pivotal point of the first half, helping Texas to a 17-0 halftime lead.

1995: Kris Brown of Southlake Carroll would go on to kick for national championship teams at Nebraska and after that, the NFL. But he had a miserable Oil Bowl. Brown missed field attempts of 39 and 42 yards in the final three minutes to let Oklahoma escape with a 12-10 win. It wasn’t a good night for either offense. Texas had only 90 yards rushing in 39 attempts and 63 yards passing on 5-of-14. Oklahoma ran 28 times and gained just 74 yards and completed just 9-of-24 passes. Justin Fuente of Tulsa Union was the offensive MVP after throwing for one touchdown. Marvell Galloway of Broken Brown was named defensive MVP with five tackles and two sacks.

1996: Jersey Village’s Darrell Bush ran 22 times for 121 yards and a touchdown to lead Texas to a 36-0 rout. Garry Zimmerman of Wichita Falls High School caught four passes for 58 yards and two TDs. Mike Knepper, an end from Garland, was named the defensive MVP. He led a defense that limited Oklahoma to 136 total yards and only once allowed the Sooners inside the Texas 25-yard line.

1997: Jarrod Reese didn’t get to take a snap until there were just 38 seconds left in the first half. But after that, the game belonged to him. The Seminole quarterback accounted for 250 yards of offense in Oklahoma’s convincing 42-21 win. The unanimous offensive MVP ran for two touchdowns, threw for two touchdowns and set up another score with a long pass. Reese completed 6 of 11 passes for 161 yards and ran 13 times for 89 yards. His TD runs were for 1 and 7 yards. He threw a 40-yard touchdown pass to Ahmed Kabba of Westmoore on his first play from scrimmage and later hit J.T. Thatcher of Norman with a 42-yarder. In between he set up a touchdown with a 39-yard pass to Donald Shoals of Enid. Killeen Ellison’s David Winbush ran for 93 yards with 70 of it coming on a fumble recovery for a touchdown. Bary Holleyman, a tackle from Putnam City North, was the defensive MVP.

1998: Shane Kennon of Putnam City North recovered two Texas fumbles and was named the MVP of an Oklahoma defense that dominated Texas 16-7. Ken Bohanon of Garland had a 3-yard touchdown run that gave the Texans an early 7-0 lead, but after that, it was all Oklahoma. Texas had only two yards rushing in the game and lost four fumbles. Kicker Josh Brown of Foyil was named the offensive MVP after kicking a 40-yard field goal, booming a 70-yard punt.

1999: Oklahoma closed out the 20th century with a 41-13 blowout. Chris Massey of Spiro scored the game’s first touchdown on a flashy 13-yard reverse and then finished it with a 57-yard punt return for a TD in the fourth quarter. In between, Tulsa Union quarterback Josh Blankenship was the star or the show with two touchdown passes — a 5-yarder to Josh Tucker of Moore and a 14-yarder to Thomas Hill of Tulsa Hale. Future Heisman Trophy winner Jason White of Tuttle threw a 21-yard TD pass to Tucker. Tye Strickland of Southlake Carroll set an Oil Bowl receiving record with eight catches for 139 yards, but Massey and Blankenship shared the offensive MVP honor, while linebacker Gregory Richmond of Oklahoma City Douglass was the defensive MVP.

Scroll to Top